top of page

Travel Logs - Mackinac Island


24 hours of driving + 1,500 miles

Wednesday night, I packed up the car.

I kept checking the weather, hoping for both a dry and cooler weekend ahead. The air conditioner went out in my car, and as a result, I was drastically try to find ways to keep cool on the upcoming drive. I went all in on the foil-looking heat blockers you throw under the windshield, accompanied by a stupid little oscillating fan. Spoiler alert: it didn't help.

The trip originally was slated for my dad and I - however, he was unable to get the day off. Rather than hold off, I decided to take another solo trip. Much like my other 2 solo road trips, I didn't plan for much - I've learned through experience that you can only do it to a degree. When you get to your location, who knows what will blow your mind and what will be just meh.

Thursday: The long haul

Everything was ready to go. I just had to make it through the work day. At 3pm, I clocked out, hopped in the sweltering car, and hit the road. When I say it was hot with no AC, that is understated. My body was cooking at medium-well an hour into the drive. There were two options: windows up, and pass out from heat exhaustion, or windows down, and have my eardrums blow from the wind rushing into the windows at 70 mph.

To keep my sanity, I did a couple of things:

  • Lots of podcasts/spotify

  • Create mental checkpoints - the small goals (100 miles, state border, etc)

  • Adjust my mindset. For so long, I had the mindset that vacation starts once I get to my destination. Instead, I now start believing that vacation is the entire trip. All of the towns, views, and people I interact with on the way to my destination can be just as impactful as the vacation spot itself.

Eight hours later, I arrived in Mackinaw City - a port city alongside Lake Michigan. I couldn't see the water, but I could sense it. I rolled into the Days Inn parking lot, and was asleep not too long after.

Friday: Mackinac Island

I woke up Friday and quickly realized how good of a choice I made with my hotel. As I walked out of my room for my comp breakfast, I discovered that my hotel parking lot was shared by the ferry company lot.

If you ever plan to visit this island, I recommend staying at the Days Inn - the rate was cheap, the rooms were clean and updated, free breakfast, and super convenient with the Starline Ferry being right next door.

After a quick breakfast, I hopped on the Starline Ferry, and headed towards island life. The swift boat carries over 200 people and arrives on the island within 20 minutes. As I was approaching, I noticed one of the main attractions - the Grand Hotel. This place, built in 1887, was known for the frills and grandeur, hosting the most elite.

In what seemed like no time, our boat docked. And like that, it was as though I had stepped back in time. As you walk onto Main Street, you immediately are immersed within a old world. Cars are prohibited on the island, which leads to a much quieter, slower, and quite frankly, calmer mindset. Your idea of time and travel on the island is warped, due to the fact that you have 3 options: walking, biking, or taking a horse. I cannot overstate the positive impact this has on your psyche. You can walk down the middle of streets - the only thing you have to avoid are road apples.

As always when getting to a new place, I was overwhelmed with the idea of a whole island to explore. I started by going to the #1 stop on my list - the Grand Hotel. It was a relatively short walk from the ferry, and it allowed me to stroll through the quaint sea-side neighborhood.

The hotel is breathtaking - as you approach it, you can't help but question how a building of such stature could have been built so long ago. You are able to go to a certain point on the grounds leading to the hotel; however, once you get close enough, you are required to pay $10 to continue through to the first floor of the hotel and the front porch. The first floor consists of boutiques, cafes, and historical documents/photos scattered throughout. To be honest, it's meh. BUT, the front porch is worth the 10 bucks. Pay your admission, walk up to the porch, grab a seat on a white rocker, and watch life go by. The elevated nature of the hotel allows for spectacular views of the lake and surrounding grounds.

So after taking some time to relax, I headed back into town and rented a one-speed cruiser. There are several options to choose from, so I encourage you to do your homework and find one that suits you best.

My Choice: Mackinac Wheels - $6/hr, pro-rated every 15 minutes after the 1st hour

I then took off onto Highway 185 - the only highway in the country where cars are prohibited. The road loops around the coast of the island, tallying a little over 8 miles. The trek allows for beautiful views of Lake Michigan, the Mackinac Bridge, tree-lined roads, and lake-front cottages. If you're biking, you should allow yourself at least 2-3 hours.

When I got to the halfway point, I cut through the island on British Landing road. This provided a whole different style of landscape - I was suddenly in thick foliage while riding up and down hilly terrain. At the advice of a local, I climbed to the top of Fort Holmes - the highest point on the island.

After hitting the other landmarks (Fort Mackinac, Arch Rock, etc.), I returned my bike to the store and hit the island on foot. I first stopped for a bite to eat. I settled on Mighty Mac's - a burger joint. The quick moving line and fast service allows for a delicious experience, without having to spend much time waiting. After devouring my food, I walked through the main drag and visited the local fare, consisting of souvenirs stops, markets, and fudge shops. If you can't afford the fudge, free samples are life. Regardless, you have to try it. Or at least watch them make it - it is mesmerizing.

As the day started to wind down, I decided to slow down my pace. I walked over to the Marina park, laid in the grass, and once again took in the sights and sounds. The large grassy area serves as a wonderful space for people watching, tossing the frisbee, or picnicking. The area gradually slopes towards the water, allowing for a perfect view of the ships in the harbor.

In the early evening, I boarded the ferry, headed back to the mainland, and headed towards the Upper Peninsula.

 

Know before you go

Bikes

There is a solid chance you will rent a bike while on the Island - this gives you the option to see everything, and at your own pace/choosing (as opposed to a horse ride). There are several companies on the island - if you're being economical, you will want to compare the options. Some companies require a deposit, some offer a variety of bikes (mountain, 7 speed, etc.). Honestly, a one-speed is fine, as there aren't too many hills.

Ferry

There are a couple of things to consider when planning your trip over to the island. There are 2 ferries that can take you over - Starline and Sheplers. If you go with Starline, order your ticket online in advance - that saves you $2 (and removes the hassle of trying to purchase when getting there). There is a free parking lot for day visitors, and it is literally across the street from the ferry. You will want to be mindful of the ferry schedules - they change depending on the season. They typically take off once an hour, and you will want to be waiting in line no less than 20 minutes from when it will arrive (ex. - if the ferry leaves at 8:30, be waiting at 8:10).

Timing

As previously mentioned, your sense of time and getting to places will be different from what you imagine. Due to the slower pace of walking/riding bikes, it will take some time to visit different spots on the island. But that is what makes the experience so great. You will quickly become accustom to (and appreciate) the laid-back atmosphere.

Must-See Spots

Grand Hotel

Fort Holmes

Arch Rock

Highway 185 (Island Loop)

Main Street

Any Fudge Shop.

Mackinac Island is the perfect place for everyone, because there is something for any interest. If you lodge off of the island, it is a relatively inexpensive adventure! Be sure to put this island on your bucket list - you won't regret it!

-MT

Single Post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page